News & Events

For Immediate Release
March 11, 2018




Eric Winston unanimously re-elected for third term as president

LAS VEGAS – The NFLPA Board of Player Representatives unanimously re-elected Eric Winston as President of the NFL Players Association on Sunday. The veteran offensive lineman ran unopposed to secure his third consecutive third-year term during the NFLPA’s annual meetings in Las Vegas, Nevada.

“It is my honor to continue my service as president of our union,” Winston said. “I am grateful to the board of player reps for believing in me and will keep fighting for every NFL player during this important time in our history.”

Additionally, Mark Herzlich was elected by the board to serve as the union’s treasurer.

Four new player members were voted onto the Executive Committee on Sunday: Sam Acho, Thomas Morstead, Russell Okung and Michael Thomas. They will join returning Executive Committee members Lorenzo Alexander, Zak DeOssie, Richard Sherman, Adam Vinatieri and Benjamin Watson.

“This union has always relied on the strength and solidarity of its player leaders,” NFLPA Executive Director DeMaurice Smith said. “I want to thank those who have served, appreciate the ongoing commitment of our returning members and welcome the new members of our executive committee.”

With the 2018 election, Matt Hasselbeck, Shaun Suisham and Ryan Wendell cycle off the NFLPA Executive Committee.


Eric Winston, President
Mark Herzlich, Treasurer
Sam Acho, Vice President
Lorenzo Alexander, Vice President
Thomas Morstead, Vice President
Russell Okung, Vice President
Zak DeOssie, Vice President
Richard Sherman, Vice President

Michael Thomas, Vice President
Adam Vinatieri, Vice President
Benjamin Watson, Vice President



About the NFL Players Association:

The National Football League Players Association is the union for professional football players in the National Football League. Established in 1956, the NFLPA has a long history of assuring proper recognition and representation of players’ interests. The NFLPA has shown that it will do whatever is necessary to assure that the rights of players are protected—including ceasing to be a union, if necessary, as it did in 1989. In 1993, the NFLPA again was officially recognized as the union representing the players, and negotiated a landmark Collective Bargaining Agreement with the NFL. The current CBA will govern the sport through 2020. Learn more at

Tags Press Release

Related Stories