News & Events



MAUI, March 18, 2015 – The NFL Players Association announced today an award of $100,000 to Chad Greenway’s Lead the Way Foundation in honor of Chad Greenway winning the prestigious Byron “Whizzer” White Award. The award, the highest honor given to a player by the NFLPA, was presented at the annual NFLPA Player Representative meetings in Maui, Hawaii during the joint session of active and former NFL players and honors the player who serves his team, community and country in the spirit of Byron Raymond “Whizzer” White. The late Supreme Court Justice was a scholar, athlete, patriot, humanitarian and public servant – the personification of the ideal to which professional football players aspire.

“I can’t tell you what an honor this is. There are so many good guys in this league, and it is such an honor to be part of this group of men,” Greenway said to the hundreds of active and former players in attendance upon accepting the award. “This foundation is something that my wife Jenni and I wanted to do as an example for our children, to use this platform of the NFL to do better and do more.”


Greenway is a nine-year NFL veteran who has played his entire career with the Minnesota Vikings. Founded in 2008, Chad Greenway’s Lead the Way Foundation provides resources and opportunities to chronically and critically ill children and their families. Greenway’s foundation has served families throughout the Twin Cities and in Greenway’s home state of South Dakota for years.

The two-time Pro Bowl linebacker has served his Minnesota teammates as a Player Representative this season and was elected as a Co-Alternate in 2013. Greenway has also been involved with the REACH Program at Hutchinson High School, Vikings outreach programs, the Gridiron Gallop 5k Fun Run, Minnesota Parks and Recreation campaigns and much more.

Each team’s locker room was given the opportunity to nominate players during the regular season. The NFLPA reviewed the submissions, with each applicant awarded $5,000 for his foundation or charity of his choice. The judges, Charlie Batch, Mike Kenn and Kevin Mawae, narrowed the applicants down to five finalists.

The other finalists, who will receive additional contributions to their foundations or a charity of choice, were: Dustin Colquitt (Kansas City Chiefs), Malcolm Jenkins (Philadelphia Eagles), Jameel McClain (New York Giants) and Charles Tillman (Chicago Bears).



Previous Justice Byron R. “Whizzer” White Award Winners
2014    Anquan Boldin, San Francisco 49ers
2013    Charlie Batch, Pittsburgh Steelers
2012    Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints
2011    Tony Richardson, New York Jets
2010    Nnamdi Asomugha, Oakland Raiders
2009    Brian Dawkins, Philadelphia Eagles
2008    Warrick Dunn, Tampa Bay Buccaneers/Atlanta Falcons
2007    John Lynch, Denver Broncos
2006    Steve McNair, Tennessee Titans
2005    Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts
2004    Derrick Brooks, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2003    Troy Vincent, Philadelphia Eagles
2002    Mark Brunell, Jacksonville Jaguars
2001    Michael McCrary, Baltimore Ravens
2000    Doug Pelfrey, Cincinnati Bengals
1999    Cris Carter, Minnesota Vikings
1998    Hardy Nickerson, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1997    Chris Zorich, Chicago Bears  
1996    Bill Brooks, Buffalo Bills
1995    Derrick Thomas, Kansas City Chiefs
1994    Mark Kelso, Buffalo Bills
1993    Nick Lowery, Kansas City Chiefs
1992    Reggie White, Green Bay Packers
1991    Mike Kenn, Atlanta Falcons
1990    Ozzie Newsome, Cleveland Browns
1989    Mike Singletary, Chicago Bears
1988    Deron Cherry, Kansas City Chiefs
1987    George Martin, New York Giants
1986    Nat Moore, Miami Dolphins
1985    Reggie Williams, Cincinnati Bengals
1984    Rolf Benirschke, San Diego Chargers
1983    Doug Dieken, Cleveland Browns
1982    Franco Harris, Pittsburgh Steelers
1981    Ken Houston, Washington Redskins
1980    Gene Upshaw, Los Angeles Raiders
1979    Roger Staubach, Dallas Cowboys
1978    Archie Manning, New Orleans Saints
1977    Lyle Alzado, Denver Broncos
1976    Jim Hart, St. Louis Cardinals
1975    Rocky Bleier, Pittsburgh Steelers
1974    Floyd Little, Denver Broncos
1973    Andy Russell, Pittsburgh Steelers
1972    Ray May, Baltimore Colts
1971    Kermit Alexander, Los Angeles Rams
1970    Gale Sayers, Chicago Bears
1969    Ed Meador, Los Angeles Rams
1968    Willie Davis, Green Bay Packers
1967    Bart Starr, Green Bay Packers

*teams listed throughout indicate team which nominated the player.