News & Events


For Immediate Release
December 3, 2015


​WASHINGTON – The NFL Players Association annually recognizes players who go above and beyond to perform community service in their team cities and hometowns.

The Byron “Whizzer” White Award is the highest honor the NFLPA can bestow on a player. The award was established by the professional football players of America to acknowledge a debt of gratitude to one of their own, Supreme Court Justice Byron Raymond “Whizzer” White—scholar, athlete, patriot, humanitarian and public servant. The NFLPA presents this prestigious annual award to the player that is just as dedicated off the field as he is on the field.

The winner, who will receive $100,000 for his foundation or a charity of his choice, will be announced at the NFLPA’s annual Super Bowl press conference.

Players from each team were told of the criteria and given the opportunity to nominate a teammate during the NFLPA’s fall locker room visits.


First-Place Vote Receiver

Second-Place Vote Receiver (multiple names indicates tie)

Atlanta Falcons

Patrick DiMarco

Matt Bryant

Arizona Cardinals

Lamar Woodley

Calais Campbell

Baltimore Ravens

John Urschel

Ladarius Webb

Buffalo Bills

Eric Wood

Corey Graham

Carolina Panthers

Thomas Davis

Roman Harper

Greg Olsen

Cincinnati Bengals

Vincent Rey

Carlos Dunlap

Cleveland Browns

Craig Robertson

Joe Thomas

Chicago Bears

Jermon Bushrod

Alshon Jeffrey

Dallas Cowboys

Jason Witten

Brandon Carr

Denver Broncos

David Bruton

Von Miller

Detroit Lions

Don Carey

Stephen Tulloch

Green Bay Packers

Sam Barrington

James Jones

Houston Texans

Duane Brown

J.J. Watt

Indianapolis Colts

Dwayne Allen

Todd Herremans

Jacksonville Jaguars

Marcedes Lewis

Roy Miller

Kansas City Chiefs

Jamaal Charles

Chase Daniel

Miami Dolphins

Michael Thomas

Jason Fox

Minnesota Vikings

Chad Greenway

John Sullivan

New England Patriots

Nate Solder

Devin McCourty

New Orleans Saints

Benjamin Watson

Drew Brees

New York Giants

Rashad Jennings

Mark Herzlich

New York Jets

Muhammad Wilkerson

D’Brickashaw Ferguson

Oakland Raiders

Justin Tuck

Amari Cooper

Marcel Reece

Philadelphia Eagles

Connor Barwin

Malcolm Jenkins

Pittsburgh Steelers

Will Allen

Kelvin Beachum

William Gay

San Diego Chargers

Darrel Stuckey

Corey Liuget

San Francisco 49ers

Anquan Boldin

Eric Reid

Seattle Seahawks

Russell Wilson

Jermaine Kearse

St. Louis Rams

Chris Long

Johnny Hekker

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Vincent Jackson

Clinton McDonald

Tennessee Titans

Delanie Walker

Jason McCourty

Washington Redskins

Darrel Young

Ryan Kerrigan


The NFLPA will review the submissions, and each nominated player will be awarded a donation for his foundation or charity of his choice. A panel of judges, composed of former Byron “Whizzer” White Award winners and NFLPA Presidents, will narrow the pool of applicants down to five finalists. The finalists will be announced in January 2016.

Previous Byron R. “Whizzer” White Award Winners

2015    Chad Greenway, Minnesota Vikings
2014     Anquan Boldin, San Francisco 49ers
2013     Charlie Batch, Pittsburgh Steelers
2012     Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints
2011     Tony Richardson, New York Jets
2010     Nnamdi Asomugha, Oakland Raiders
2009     Brian Dawkins, Philadelphia Eagles
2008     Warrick Dunn, Tampa Bay Buccaneers/Atlanta Falcons
2007     John Lynch, Denver Broncos
2006     Steve McNair, Tennessee Titans
2005     Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts
2004     Derrick Brooks, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2003     Troy Vincent, Philadelphia Eagles
2002     Mark Brunell, Jacksonville Jaguars
2001     Michael McCrary, Baltimore Ravens
2000     Doug Pelfrey, Cincinnati Bengals
1999     Cris Carter, Minnesota Vikings
1998     Hardy Nickerson, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1997     Chris Zorich, Chicago Bears     
1996     Bill Brooks, Buffalo Bills
1995     Derrick Thomas, Kansas City Chiefs
1994     Mark Kelso, Buffalo Bills
1993     Nick Lowery, Kansas City Chiefs
1992     Reggie White, Green Bay Packers
1991     Mike Kenn, Atlanta Falcons
1990     Ozzie Newsome, Cleveland Browns
1989     Mike Singletary, Chicago Bears
1988     Deron Cherry, Kansas City Chiefs
1987     George Martin, New York Giants
1986     Nat Moore, Miami Dolphins
1985     Reggie Williams, Cincinnati Bengals
1984     Rolf Benirschke, San Diego Chargers
1983     Doug Dieken, Cleveland Browns
1982     Franco Harris, Pittsburgh Steelers
1981     Ken Houston, Washington Redskins
1980     Gene Upshaw, Los Angeles Raiders
1979     Roger Staubach, Dallas Cowboys
1978     Archie Manning, New Orleans Saints
1977     Lyle Alzado, Denver Broncos
1976     Jim Hart, St. Louis Cardinals
1975     Rocky Bleier, Pittsburgh Steelers
1974     Floyd Little, Denver Broncos
1973     Andy Russell, Pittsburgh Steelers
1972     Ray May, Baltimore Colts
1971     Kermit Alexander, Los Angeles Rams
1970     Gale Sayers, Chicago Bears
1969     Ed Meador, Los Angeles Rams
1968     Willie Davis, Green Bay Packers
1967     Bart Starr, Green Bay Packers

*teams listed throughout indicate that which nominated the player.