News & Events

For Immediate Release
January 30, 2020
Media Contact: Brandon Parker | Communications Manager | 202-403-4779

New York Jets linebacker earns NFLPA’s highest honor for his outreach efforts


MIAMI – The NFL Players Association announced Brandon Copeland as the recipient of the 2020 Alan Page Community Award at its annual Super Bowl press conference on Thursday. In recognition, the NFLPA will donate $100,000 to Copeland’s Beyond the Basics foundation.

“Receiving this award from the NFLPA and my peers is truly humbling and serves as one of those moments where God lets you know that you are on the right path,” the New York Jets linebacker said. “As I have said before, I hope that the legacy I leave here on Earth is much bigger than just being an NFL player. That is the driving force behind why I work so hard to make a positive impact on the people I cross paths with.”

As the NFLPA’s highest honor, the Alan Page Community Award annually recognizes one player who demonstrates a profound dedication to positively impacting his team’s city and communities across the country, following in the spirit of the Pro Football Hall of Famer and social pioneer for whom the honor is named.

This winter, Copeland demonstrated the power of teamwork and giving. The five-year veteran linebacker put a twist on his annual “December to Remember” by enlisting the help of 11 active and former NFL players across the country: Josh Bynes, Joel Gamble, Duron Harmon, Kerry Hyder, Cam Lynch, Devin & Jason McCourty, Kevin Minter, Kyle Van Noy, Tahir Whitehead and Avery Williamson.

The collection of athletes banded together to host seven different shopping sprees for the holiday season in New York/New Jersey, Tampa, Baltimore, Dallas, Boston and Oakland on December, 16, 17 and 20. 

The Week 16 Community MVP kicked off the initiative with a pizza party, during which he surprised 101 kids in the New York/New Jersey area each with a $200 gift card. Through Copeland’s foundation, his NFL friends were able to follow suit, ultimately providing gift cards to more than 300 foster and underprivileged children across the country. 

This holiday initiative is one of several done by Copeland’s Beyond The Basics non-profit, which works to empower young individuals to maximize their potential by exposing them to enriching experiences, opportunities and people. Last year, Copeland held his fourth annual youth football camp in his hometown of Baltimore. The 400-plus participants not only learned about the sport but also about the importance of giving back by packing 1,000 book bags with school supplies and hygiene kits. 

In March, Copeland plans to host The Basketball Classic: Celebrity Edition at Barclays Center. The outreach effort is meant to fill the stands with people who may not be able to afford an event at the arena so that they can enjoy the charity game as well as a Brooklyn Nets contest that same evening.

“I look forward to using the NFLPA’s generous donation to continue empowering people, whether it be through community events or taking the time to have a simple conversation,” Copeland said. “Honors and moments like this are a humbling sign that the work of our foundation is making a real impact.”

Copeland was chosen as this year’s Alan Page Community Award winner from among five finalists following an electronic ballot vote that was open to all of his NFL peers from across the league. The finalists – Copeland, Geno Atkins (Cincinnati Bengals), Brandon Carr (Baltimore Ravens), Demario Davis (New Orleans Saints) – were selected by an external committee of judges across labor, media, sport and charity from among the 18 Community MVPs awarded during the 2019 regular season.

For more information on the Alan Page Community Award, please visit

Previous Alan Page Community Award Winners*:

2019   Andrew Whitworth, Los Angeles Rams

2018    Chris Long, Philadelphia Eagles

2017    Malcolm Jenkins, Philadelphia Eagles

2016    Thomas Davis, Carolina Panthers

2015    Chad Greenway, Minnesota Vikings

2014    Anquan Boldin, San Francisco 49ers

2013    Charlie Batch, Pittsburgh Steelers

2012    Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints

2011    Tony Richardson, New York Jets

2010    Nnamdi Asomugha, Oakland Raiders

2009    Brian Dawkins, Philadelphia Eagles

2008    Warrick Dunn, Tampa Bay Buccaneers/Atlanta Falcons

2007    John Lynch, Denver Broncos

2006    Steve McNair, Tennessee Titans

2005    Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts

2004    Derrick Brooks, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

2003    Troy Vincent, Philadelphia Eagles

2002    Mark Brunell, Jacksonville Jaguars

2001    Michael McCrary, Baltimore Ravens

2000    Doug Pelfrey, Cincinnati Bengals

1999    Cris Carter, Minnesota Vikings

1998    Hardy Nickerson, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

1997    Chris Zorich, Chicago Bears 

1996    Bill Brooks, Buffalo Bills

1995    Derrick Thomas, Kansas City Chiefs

1994    Mark Kelso, Buffalo Bills

1993    Nick Lowery, Kansas City Chiefs

1992    Reggie White, Green Bay Packers

1991    Mike Kenn, Atlanta Falcons

1990    Ozzie Newsome, Cleveland Browns

1989    Mike Singletary, Chicago Bears

1988    Deron Cherry, Kansas City Chiefs

1987    George Martin, New York Giants

1986    Nat Moore, Miami Dolphins

1985    Reggie Williams, Cincinnati Bengals

1984    Rolf Benirschke, San Diego Chargers

1983    Doug Dieken, Cleveland Browns

1982    Franco Harris, Pittsburgh Steelers

1981    Ken Houston, Washington Redskins

1980    Gene Upshaw, Los Angeles Raiders

1979    Roger Staubach, Dallas Cowboys

1978    Archie Manning, New Orleans Saints

1977    Lyle Alzado, Denver Broncos

1976    Jim Hart, St. Louis Cardinals

1975    Rocky Bleier, Pittsburgh Steelers

1974    Floyd Little, Denver Broncos

1973    Andy Russell, Pittsburgh Steelers

1972    Ray May, Baltimore Colts

1971    Kermit Alexander, Los Angeles Rams

1970    Gale Sayers, Chicago Bears

1969    Ed Meador, Los Angeles Rams

1968    Willie Davis, Green Bay Packers

1967    Bart Starr, Green Bay Packers

*Team listed indicate which team player was on at the time he was awarded



About the NFL Players Association:

The National Football League Players Association is the union for professional football players in the National Football League. Established in 1956, the NFLPA has a long history of assuring proper recognition and representation of players’ interests. The NFLPA has shown that it will do whatever is necessary to assure that the rights of players are protected—including ceasing to be a union, if necessary, as it did in 1989. In 1993, the NFLPA again was officially recognized as the union representing the players, and negotiated a landmark Collective Bargaining Agreement with the NFL. The current CBA will govern the sport through 2020.Learn more at


Tags Community MVP Alan Page Community Award

Related Stories