For Immediate Release
January 31, 2019
Media Contact: Brandon Parker | Communications Manager | 202-403-4779


L.A. Rams offensive lineman earns NFLPA’s highest honor for his outreach efforts

ATLANTA – The NFL Players Association announced Andrew Whitworth as the recipient of the 2019 Alan Page Community Award at its annual Super Bowl press conference on Thursday. In recognition, the NFLPA will donate $100,000 to The Big Whit 77 Foundation.

“Football has brought so much joy to my life and family, so it is our honor to embrace the community and share those blessings,” the Los Angeles Rams offensive lineman said. “It is truly humbling to be recognized by the NFLPA and my peers with this kind donation, and we look forward to empowering those that are in need around us. Thank you for providing this opportunity to use football to bring people together.”

Previously known as the Byron Whizzer White Award before being re-established this past fall, the Alan Page Community Award is the NFLPA’s highest honor. The award annually recognizes one player who demonstrates a profound dedication to positively impacting his team’s city and communities across the country in the spirit of the Pro Football Hall of Famer and social pioneer for whom the honor is named.

Following the November mass shooting in Thousand Oaks, California, Whitworth donated his Week 10 game check (approximately $60,000) to the Ventura County Community Foundation’s Conejo Valley Victims Fund in helping the families of the 12 people who lost their lives.

In that same month, Whitworth helped raise money for those impacted by the wildfires that had torn through California. The All-Pro lineman auctioned off his game jersey to benefit the American Red Cross Southern California Wildfire Relief fund. Whitworth’s efforts, despite him and his own family also being displaced by the raging fires, once again demonstrated his passion for helping others. 

During the 2017 season, his first with the Rams, Whitworth purchased 600 bikes and helmets for Grape Street Elementary School students around the holiday season. He also supported 2017 NFLPA Community MVP Chris Long and his First Quarter Literacy program by matching Long’s donation of $20,000 to provide 10,000 books to Los Angeles kids.

Additionally, Whitworth and his wife, Melissa, have impacted youth and families in their home state of Louisiana through various campaigns within the Big Whit 77 Foundation. Whit’s Warriors provides financial assistance to high school seniors in Ouachita and Lincoln parishes. Since its inception, the program has awarded more than 200 students with over $400,000 in scholarships and school supplies since its inception. 

The foundation’s two other programs are Open Arms, which offers financial aid to families in the process of adoption, and Wish List, which partners University of Louisiana Monroe and Louisiana Tech athletes with local families for fellowship and fun during the holidays.

Whitworth was chosen as this year’s winner from among five finalists following an electronic ballot vote that was open to all of his NFL peers from across the league. The finalists – Whitworth, Geno Atkins (Cincinnati Bengals), Kelvin Beachum (New York Jets), Von Miller (Denver Broncos) and Cam Newton (Carolina Panthers) – were selected by an external committee of judges across labor, media, sport and charity from among the 18 Community MVPs awarded during the 2018 regular season.

Learn more about the Alan Page Community Award.


Previous Alan Page Community Award Winners*:

2018     Chris Long, Philadelphia Eagles

2017     Malcolm Jenkins, Philadelphia Eagles

2016     Thomas Davis, Carolina Panthers

2015    Chad Greenway, Minnesota Vikings

2014    Anquan Boldin, San Francisco 49ers

2013    Charlie Batch, Pittsburgh Steelers

2012    Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints

2011    Tony Richardson, New York Jets

2010    Nnamdi Asomugha, Oakland Raiders

2009    Brian Dawkins, Philadelphia Eagles

2008    Warrick Dunn, Tampa Bay Buccaneers/Atlanta Falcons

2007    John Lynch, Denver Broncos

2006    Steve McNair, Tennessee Titans

2005    Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts

2004    Derrick Brooks, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

2003    Troy Vincent, Philadelphia Eagles

2002    Mark Brunell, Jacksonville Jaguars

2001    Michael McCrary, Baltimore Ravens

2000    Doug Pelfrey, Cincinnati Bengals

1999    Cris Carter, Minnesota Vikings

1998    Hardy Nickerson, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

1997    Chris Zorich, Chicago Bears 

1996    Bill Brooks, Buffalo Bills

1995    Derrick Thomas, Kansas City Chiefs

1994    Mark Kelso, Buffalo Bills

1993    Nick Lowery, Kansas City Chiefs

1992    Reggie White, Green Bay Packers

1991    Mike Kenn, Atlanta Falcons

1990    Ozzie Newsome, Cleveland Browns

1989    Mike Singletary, Chicago Bears

1988    Deron Cherry, Kansas City Chiefs

1987    George Martin, New York Giants

1986    Nat Moore, Miami Dolphins

1985    Reggie Williams, Cincinnati Bengals

1984    Rolf Benirschke, San Diego Chargers

1983    Doug Dieken, Cleveland Browns

1982    Franco Harris, Pittsburgh Steelers

1981    Ken Houston, Washington Redskins

1980    Gene Upshaw, Los Angeles Raiders

1979    Roger Staubach, Dallas Cowboys

1978    Archie Manning, New Orleans Saints

1977    Lyle Alzado, Denver Broncos

1976    Jim Hart, St. Louis Cardinals

1975    Rocky Bleier, Pittsburgh Steelers

1974    Floyd Little, Denver Broncos

1973    Andy Russell, Pittsburgh Steelers

1972    Ray May, Baltimore Colts

1971    Kermit Alexander, Los Angeles Rams

1970    Gale Sayers, Chicago Bears

1969    Ed Meador, Los Angeles Rams

1968    Willie Davis, Green Bay Packers

1967    Bart Starr, Green Bay Packers

*Team listed indicates which team player was on at the time he was awarded



About the NFL Players Association:

The National Football League Players Association is the union for professional football players in the National Football League. Established in 1956, the NFLPA has a long history of assuring proper recognition and representation of players’ interests. The NFLPA has shown that it will do whatever is necessary to assure that the rights of players are protected—including ceasing to be a union, if necessary, as it did in 1989. In 1993, the NFLPA again was officially recognized as the union representing the players, and negotiated a landmark Collective Bargaining Agreement with the NFL. The current CBA will govern the sport through 2020. Learn more at


Tags Community MVP Alan Page Community Award

Related Stories